Filipinos are among the healthiest people in Southeast Asia by 2022, and Asia by 2040


To lead the country in the development of a productive, resilient, equitable and people-centered health system


Quality Policy

The Department of Health, as the nation’s leader in health, is committed to guarantee equitable, accessible and quality health services for all Filipinos.

We, at the DOH, together with our partners, shall ensure the highest standards in health in compliance with statutory and regulatory requirements.

And shall continually improve our quality management systems to the satisfaction of our citizens.


Service Pledge

We, the officials and employees of the Department of Health, Regional Office I, imbued with the spirit of commitment, reliable expertise and professionalism, do solemnly swear to:

  • Promptly and timely serve all of you with a smile during office hours and even beyond office hours, holidays and other non-working days when the exigencies of the service so require
  • Eagerly attend to your needs as soon as you enter in the premises
  • Be consistent to apply rules and regulations in all our activities and treat everyone equally
  • Provide adequate and accurate information and maintain functional feedback mechanisms
  • Politely respond to your official complaints and take immediate thereof.

All these we pledge because you all deserve no less!



Region I, more popularly known as Ilocos Region, occupies the area on the northwestern coast of Luzon with its provinces stretching along the blue waters of South China Sea. It is bounded by the Cordillera Provinces on the East; by the Central Luzon provinces on the Southwest; and the South China Sea on the West. The Region is composed of four (4) provinces, nine (9) cities, 118 municipalities and 3,250 barangays. The provinces are located along the coastline of South China Sea and these are Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan. The nine (9) cities are Dagupan, San Carlos, Urdaneta and Alaminos in Pangasinan, San Fernando in La Union, Laoag and Batac in Ilocos Norte and Candon and Vigan in Ilocos Sur. The coastal portion stripping Ilocos Region measures a total land area of 12,840.2 square kilometers which is about 4.28 percent of the country’s total land area. Among the provinces, Pangasinan has the widest land area while La Union, a narrow strip of land, has the smallest area (1,493.1 square kilometers or 11.6 percent). Ilocos Norte has 26.5 percent while Ilocos Sur has 20.15 percent. The public forest land in the region occupies 4,739.57 square kilometers or 37 percent of the region’s total area. This consists of established timberlands and forest reserves with 45% and 51% square kilometers respectively. The region has 4,147 square kilometers of agricultural land (about 89.5%); 154.75 square kilometers of water fishponds and 2.08 square kilometers are areas for sea farming.